I’m Just Raw

 In these fast-paced times of ours, I crave solace in all things natural. Like wood; there’s something grounding about wood: the rough untreated textures, the tidy pattern of growth rings, the gnarly roots anchored beneath the earth.

Clockwise from left: Messenger bag; sunglasses; bowl; chair; turntables. Background: wallpaper print

I just realized that the Philip & Lillian messenger bag isn’t made of wood, but raw leather, which in a way, resembles the textures of wood. But make no mistake; I loooooove raw leather for what it is. I love raw and natural fibers so much, sometimes I think I could’ve been a cave woman in a past life, but with an unfailing appreciation for fashion. *smiles wickedly*

In fact, this whole post was inspired by that messenger bag. I think I did the collage in the hopes that it would help me decide whether or not I should spend damn near $400 on a piece of leather (KFK did not hold back when he said like the bag looks like something that belongs in the garbage –mean!). However, when I scoured the internet looking for similar bags in a less expensive price range, none really compared to the details in the Philip & Lillian.

The other items are no better at loosening my iron grip on my wallet. The turntable is insanely unaffordable (for a middle class working gal such as myself), but what a gorgeous work of art! And such a unique piece. Same goes for the Laura Spector chair. I kinda just wanna get it, not so much to sit in, but to stare at it and wonder how she twists the wood into such intricate shapes. The Shwood sunglasses are more in my price range, but the wooden bowl is just perfect, especially since I recently saw it and other accompanying dishes on sale at my local Tar-jay.

*Sigh* Well, one thing’s for sure…trippin’ about spending money for luxury goods? Not a grounding experience.

Leave a Reply

