Runaway, Kanye, Runaway

“Let’s have a toast for the douchebags,
Let’s have a toast for the assholes,
Let’s have a toast for the scumbags,
Every one of them that I know
Let’s have a toast to the jerkoffs
That’ll never take work off
Baby, I got a plan
Run away fast as you can.”

Once again, Kanye demonstrates his lyrical genius in the chorus-line for Runaway, his new single off of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy *insert sarcastic tone* I still can’t understand how people give him accolades for such horrible lyrics and an even worse-sounding flow! He sounds like a whiney five-year-old. It’s just further evidence proving that producers should just stay producers. Kanye’s just doing too much. He’s currently promoting Dark Twisted Fantasy, which consists of numerous internet media clips and interviews showcasing how much of a douche he is. After famously posing as Jesus on a 2006 cover of Rolling Stone, he was quoted, “You want me to be great, but you don’t ever want me to say I’m great?” That’s right, Kanye. No one wants to hear an egotistical manic talk about how people should worship him. Unfortunately, it’s one of the quickest ways to boost sales and Kanye is a media whore.

The 30-minute movie short accompanying his first single has generated quite a buzz, though. And I couldn’t help but give in and watch the thing. Especially since he cited Thriller, Purple Rain and The Wall as major influences. I was like, let’s see what this guy comes up with that is as major as Thriller.

Thoughts? A couple cinematic things stood out to me. One, the dialogue was so sad. Almost as bad as Kanye’s lack of rhyming skills, which, in hindsight, is very appropriate. The transition between scenes/songs was kinda choppy so scenes didn’t feel as though they ran together smoothly. Maybe that was his purpose…? The phoenix and her costume were gorgeous; however, the special effects used to make her look as though she was flying looked fake and borderline cliché.

Former Victoria’s Secret model, Selita Ebanks, is no stranger to wearing wings. I love whoever did her phoenix costume, particularly the talons and her eye make-up; her eyes were framed by feathered lashes.

Seeing as chains (and come to think of it, feathers) are super trendy in jewelry and accessories the past few seasons, Ebanks was fit to be a queen in her gold headdress.

The phoenix’s first rageful blast into the sky.

A bird’s-eye view of the phoenix flying as fast as she can away from Kanye.

Obviously, I have biased views about Kanye. Although I can acknowledge that his beats are enjoyable (for the most part), I am quick to be turned off by an egotistical, arrogant bastard, which Kanye is. Jezebel provides an interesting and thorough analysis of the Runaway film, namely that Kanye is struggling with the world’s love-hate attitude toward him. Simply put, Kanye sees himself as this exotic, otherworldly creature of greatness (the phoenix) that everyone is in awe of. However, after throwing his greatness around, Kanye experiences the world as unaccepting of him, hence the gossip folks at the dinner table. It’s during that scene that Kanye literally turns his back on the negative conversation and, in a track showcasing a blend of classical music, ballerinas and un-classy vernacular (see above lyrics), Kanye, in a burst of frustration, tells everyone to fuck off.

It’s sad that Kanye is such an ass. The album is actually quite good. KFK and I would’ve bought it if he didn’t rap on it, so we downloaded a couple instrumental tracks. Strictly on principle, we won’t buy his music because of how much we dislike his personality. A part of me tries to give him the benefit of the doubt. Another possible analysis of the Runaway film is that Kanye is actually remorseful about some of his more outlandish and harmful behavior (ie., putting Taylor Swift on blast, putting Bush on blast, although I kind of agree with him on some level). For example, the scene where the phoenix is leaving the planet may symbolize Kanye’s realization that, although his music receives much acclaim, his bullshit attitude will eventually catch up to him. Then I saw his recent interview on the Today Show with Matt Lauer, and that theory went flying out the window like a phoenix skyrocketing into space.

*Sigh* Same bullshit, same Kanye.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shyaine
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 14:03:48

    Your views on Mr. West seem to have been shaped by everybody else’s opinions. And like assholes, everybody has one so you are most certainly entitled to yours. However, you offer no valid reason for not liking Kanye. Because he’s hot?? And talented?? You say he isn’t…wow, you are the worst. You probably like the Pussycat Dolls. Listen, hands down Kanye is one of the biggest, most talented, most influential artists, scratch that — PEOPLE — of our generation. I laud and applaud him and will continue to support him and all his “raging maniacal antics”. Go Kanye!!!!

    Reply

    • shesgotplenty
      Jan 08, 2011 @ 11:57:00

      I site a lot of links and other sources on the internet for further reading and to support opinions I’ve already had about Kanye and his music. I never said I disliked Kanye because he is hot or talented. I don’t like Kanye because of his attitude. He acts like he thinks he’s God to hip-hop and can walk around and treat his peers poorly. I think I would be a little more understanding of his attitude if he had a decent flow or even decent lyrics which I don’t believe he does. Creating a chorus line hailing the douchebags, assholes and scumbags requires the talents of a fourth-grade playground bully. I agree he is a decent producer, but not enough to claim he is as all that as he thinks he is. “Dark Twisted Fantasy” has some awesome beats which he ruins with his voice. I don’t care so much for the Pussycat Dolls. A lot of my blog posts about music are about independent, less well-known artists Like Joyo Velarde, Zee Avi, Reggie Watts and Charmaine Clamor. It’s interesting how you say I’m “entitled to my opinion” yet you seem to take it so personally that you have to attack me for the opinion I’m so entitled to. Why so defensive? I’m not attacking you for liking Kanye. There are definitely a lot of reasons to like his music. It’s just that, I feel his negative aspects greatly overshadow anything good he does. So calling me an asshole doesn’t make me rethink my opinions about him. It just gives me a better idea of the kind of fans he has.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

