The Bear, The Hooker and the Chandelier

It sucks. I’ve cut myself off from shopping for a minute while I try to replenish my finances. I got a trip to Philly comin’ up and I’m still payin’ off this necklace I bought from Etsy, so this chick has to come up with fun, creative, free ways to enjoy life’s goodies.

My favorites are art shows that combine both fashion and visual art. Saturday, I went to the opening reception for Fabia Natalia‘s new works, Fashionable Aftertaste Without End at Corey Helford. While my true style roots stem from bohemian wanderlust, I have a fascination for the Harajuku-Gothic Lolita genre. Maybe it reflects a desire to unleash my completely child-like side? Hmmmm, Dr. Freud would wonder…

I really like this picture below. She looks rather sneaky and mischievous, peering over her shoulder to make sure she isn’t seen. When I was in middle school/high school, I used to sneak out quite a bit.

I think these models in the tree were actually at the reception wearing the exact same outfits as they are in the painting. On a sidenote, I wish I had a Domo doll that ginormous.

My favorite part of the reception: her giant pink chandelier! Barbie only wishes her Dream House had something so cool.

See? I wanna be able to dress up in pink and petticoats and be totally okay with it. Now, when I go out in public, people may feel a little differently…

Okay, best. Tea. Party. Ever. Maybe that’s why I go to that frilly English tea room a lot…

This Redlight District-looking piece doesn’t quite go with the rest of her works, but I can appreciate how it contrasts with her Kawaii paintings.

Here are a few works from the previous show for Brandi Milne. I also wanted to go to this show, but didn’t get a chance to.

A view of the crowd from the upstairs loft. I couldn’t resist including the chandelier in the shot. Looking at this picture, the crowd doesn’t look as cramped as it felt. There was a line to get into the gallery; there were so many people! I had a hell of a time trying to walk around and see the paintings.

There was this awesome cake of a bear near the lounge. I wanted to get near it and take a bite, but it was so crowded I just kinda hung back to wait for the crowd to dissipate. A little while later, I looked down from the loft and saw a group of Lolita chicks attacking the bear.

Poor bear! With the red velvet filling (which did not taste good, by the way!), it looked like it had been massacred by a bunch of homicidal Lolitas. Don’t let them cutesie faces fool you!

It’s unusual for me to visit Corey Helford and see paintings of real people rather than abstract, cartoon-like portrayals of humans. But it appeals to my escapist-fantasy mentality of the moment because I can imagine that I’m actually there with these women, partaking in Fabia’s stream of consciousness.

Anyway, I caught a glimpse of Fabia being photographed with a few fans. She was every bit the bright and sun-shiney artist her paintings portrayed. I wanted to take a picture with her too, but I was having an insecure moment, appropriately intimidated by the glitzy vibe of LA. One of these days, though! One of these days…

Leave a Reply

