Indigenous Earthling

   

IN·DIG·E·NOUS EARTH·LING [in-dij-uh-nuhs ûrth’lĭng]
1. One, especially a human originating and living or occurring naturally on the Earth which reflects the Infinite.
  

It’s always a good day when I scour the internet and find a Sister whose work speaks to my projected outlook on life; grounded, down-to-earth, an indigenous representation of my cultural heritage. Under the moniker Indigenous Earthling, her name says it all. Hand-krafted by J’me elle Austria, her jewelry pieces are physical and artistic representations of creativity born in the moment. My cousin, GM, had introduced me to her MySpace website which showcases gallery after gallery of Philippine-, Egyptian- and African-inspired creations. Plus, I love her style. <Cue pupil dilation>  

  

    

Sometimes ideas don’t turn out the way you expect them to. Life has its way of interrupting our plans and sometimes things turn out even better than you’d hoped. A few months back, work was rearing its ugly head, challenging my mind into complete oblivion and J’me was carving out her own path as well. An email conversation wasn’t going to cut it until finally, the chess pieces fell into place at Divine Feline 2010.  

  

   

After dodging from booth to booth to scope out the local talent and escape the sweltering June sun, I finally made a rest stop at J’me’s table to meet the diva behind the designs.  

  

Although she had long since cut her hair and most, if not all, of the jewelry shown here has been sold, J’me was completely sweet and beautiful in person as she is online. Encounters like that should be bottled up and sold at pharmacies everywhere. It’s been quite some since I’ve had a conversation with another Filipina about…being Filipina, that didn’t take place in an academic or professional setting. I told her, “Perhaps this is what I needed to do; to get out of my head, come here and just be in the presence of creativity.” She understood: we are Libras, after all. Striking that balance is golden.  

  

It was time to go when the heat began slowly wrapping its fingers around my temples. As I waited for J’me to wrap up a page of her homemade paper, swirls of incense wafted under my nose and I’m reminded of the days I used to roll with hippies in Santa Cruz and witches in Oakland. It’s a familiar feeling, a comforting feeling. A parting hug later, I left Divine Feline with few trinkets, save for J’me’s gift and hopes to meet other earthlings working that indigenous tip.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: beading
  2. vmanuel0311
    Feb 11, 2014 @ 20:44:04

    I’m working on a project with my class about incorporating indigenous knowledge with new knowledge. I am Native American and have ideas of my own, but appreciate it if you could share some of your experiences to help me on my journey.
    Any input would be appreciated! Thank you..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

