Joodito

Okay, I rave and rave about being a nomad, but I know an uber-cool designer when I see one, especially when she coins her own design concept. Judy Lee, creative genius behind Joodito, said in an interview for earth911: “Joodito is a merge between the past and the future, a concept named retrofuturism. This is depicted through the marriage of weathered, retro materials with signature futuristic design aesthetics.” Love the socially conscious attitude. Genius, no?

Her Etsy profile reads:

the concept .

+ to celebrate the beauty of imperfection,
with the use of weathered textiles
and emphasis on raw aesthetics .

JOODITO
garments are
born from salvaged materials
by freestyle methods .

a retrofuturist .”

And her designs and styling inclinations are just as minimalist as the way she describes her garments.

Plus, her model –if that’s not herself– is freakin’ adorable. I’ve always considered the possibility of getting red frames, but now I think I just might get them. It’s okay, I’m due for an optometry appointment anyway.

I love the simplicity and yet, complexity, of each piece. Such is my love for contradictions. And let me tell you, this is probably the only time I’ve ever really appreciated geometry.

She had this series of shredded tees that I totally wanna cop, but since every item is one-of-a-kind, it’s unlikely that I’ll get my hands on one. I’m such a sucker for the deconstructed look.

Ya know, the more I look at them, the more I think I can replicate something similar. Alls I need is a second-hand shirt, some fabric chalk, a pair of sharp scissors and a steady hand and voila!

I was tickled to see that she had a series of pieces named after hip-hop artists. And they’re good artists, too! Not like Ludacris or Lil Wayne or…Wocka Flocka(???)…geez!…Anyway, no. She chose artists like…

…Bizzy Bone (from Bone Thugs n Harmony for all you non-hip-hop heads);

Wu-Tang;

De La Soul;

Dr. Dre;

Kool Moe Dee;

NWA;

and A Tribe Called Quest (my favorite!!!).

She also has a penchant for creating hoods that remind me of astronaut helmets which completely encapsulates the futuristic concept.

And I just LOVE her styling concepts in this leotard-leggings ensemble: hip-hop meets The Future.

Gotta have them doorknockers!

Her newer stuff is even more futuristic, her accessories more abstract. Non-functional face visor? Check! Gravity-defying ponytail? Check!

It’s Super Dome! The hood’s a little bit alien, a little bit astronaut, a whole lotta style.

Picking up on the bold-shoulder trend, Judy channels Michael Jackson by sprinkling the shoulders on this red Jetson number generously with bling.

She takes a different approach with this salmon colored dress. The A-line dress and gathered chest detail takes on a sweeter vibe, but she still retains the geometric lines of a retrofuturistic garment.

This “paperdoll mini” is so cool! I completely agree with this concept. I would love to have a Joodito doll. If you’re reading this Judy, I think that would be an awesome project for the line. Like a Mighty Muggs figurine only I can dress it up.

Yep, Joodito is definitely at the top of my favorites list. Yet another coveted garment to add to my Shopaholic Action Plan. *Sigh*

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 03:12:57

    Hello!
    were can I buy Joodito clothes?

    Reply

  2. Natalie
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 02:56:14

    thanks for the site, but there isn’t the clouthes that Iwant in it
    I want:
    Kool Moe Dee
    NWA
    Super Dome
    Quest
    is it possible that I can get thise clouthes some way?

    Reply

    • shesgotplenty
      Oct 30, 2010 @ 12:28:01

      Ooooh, I don’t know. You might have to communicate to the seller directly by email. My understanding is that each piece is one of a kind, but perhaps she can do something custom-made for you. It wouldn’t hurt to ask. I was planning to ask her if she could do something custom-made once I got the funds to pay for something like that. If you make a request, good luck! Let us know how it works out!

      Reply

  3. Natalie
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 05:09:36

    okay, but what’s her email?were can I find it?

    Reply

  4. Stacey
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 16:35:48

    I really like your stuff. I clicked on your Etsy link and couldn’t find anything. Are you selling your clothes?

    Reply

    • shesgotplenty
      Mar 02, 2012 @ 18:13:58

      Hi Stacey! Unfortunately, these aren’t my clothes. I wish they were!! I was simply referencing an Etsy designer that I admire. Sometimes sellers go on vacation, or they simply don’t have anything to sell at the moment. You can either check back with her or email her to see when she’ll putting up things for sail again. Best of luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

