Attila Design

This will be a picture-heavy post. But you won’t be sorry. I’ve never even bought an item from this designer, but Tiina Antilla of Attila Design is probably my most favorite designer ever

 

All I know of her work is from her Etsy shop but it’s enough to cause the heart to race and the pupils to dilate. She does a ridiculously amazing job of uniting contradictions in such a unique way: military and romance, soft jersey material with leather and hardware, flowing drapery with restraints, buckles and harnesses everywhere. And the best part is how a lot of her pieces, particularly the dresses, are endlessly interactive, allowing the wearer to adjust skirt lengths, add sleeves, and basically alter the shape and look of the piece. It’s like having a toy! And given my love for anything that has multiple uses, this is the icing, whipped cream and cherry on top of the cake. 

Here are a few (million) of my favorite items that she currently has for sale. 

A denim corset. 

 

As you can see in the second example below, you can wear the back of the vest on the front. 

 

She’s a sartorial genius. She knits, too. Here’s a corset-style knit top depicting more of the romantic, feminine side of her designs. 

 

 

 

Here is one piece I got my eye on; a newsprint skirt with leather and hardware hems. 

 

The back of the skirt has a funky, tribal print. And she doesn’t say this in the description, but I’m sure her multi-use option applies here as well; I can totally see a person wearing the back of this skirt at the front. 

 

A detailed look at the leather and hardware. 

 

Here is a shimmery dress with “steel-like” material and restraining corset tape offset by a knit cowl neck. 

 

You can wear the cowl neck rolled up to form a halter-like neckline, or down to cure them cold shoulders. *wink wink* 

 

An Escape Coat that is all ruffles and romance peppered with light doses of metal buttons and a stern belt. 

 

 

Now, these following 2 items are my Achilles Heel. They are what will make me go bankrupt. I’ve actually mapped out an action plan in my head which consists of setting up another bank account specifically for really expensive Etsy purchases. But her work really is wearable art. It would be totally worth it to look like a walking art canvas. I mean, look at it! 

Green With Envy military dress with belt 

 

Oh, how I long to have these leather straps! 

 

The other item that will cause financial distress of apocalyptic proportions is this Aquatic bohemian coat made of leather. 

 

It is so awesome, I want to cry. 

 

If you look at her gallery of sold items, there is a veritable plethora of crack-worthy sartorial goodness. 

A one-of-a-kind (OOAK) leather evening bag. 

 

 

A leather reversible bag. I’m diggin’ the brown side with the grass print. 

 

Belle Epoque convertible dress with so many leather straps and buttons I don’t know what to do with myself. 

 

Another green dress that, again, illustrates how Tiina’s creative genius uses straps to manipulate the draping, ruffles and skirt length. 

 

 

You can even attach the strap from the neckline to a random leather anchor on the skirt! 

 

An edgier side to Attila: an alligator leather dress. 

 

She has a penchant for leather half-vests, too. Here’s an angelic, white version accented with feathers. 

 

A half-vest in buttery caramel. 

 

And again in black. 

 

She noted that this lily pod necklace is one-of-a-kind which makes me kind of sad because…well, because I want one! As long as it looks good, I never shy away from statement necklaces. Perhaps she can custom make one for me… 

 

A nomadic wool jacket! Holla! Again, her use of soft materials with an obi-like belt and leather straps. 

 

 

Okay. Now. This dress is a knock-out. I think those are sleeves hanging on the sides. I can imagine wearing this to a bondage convention…or to dinner…

 

Called the Sybil summer dress, I’m adoring the simplicity. She obviously couldn’t resist adding metal detail on the straps and cords on the sides of the dress. 

 

Using the drawcords, you can hike the hemline up to micro-mini level! And keeping true to the OOAK philosophy, the graphic print still adds to the unique-ness of the dress. 

 

The Envoy coat introduces leather trim, more ruffles and a mountain of belts. 

 

The many, many ways to be militant. 

 

 

Her Samurai coat. 

 

Even her shawls have leather trim and metal details. I heart this woman, and I never use that phrase. She has totally won me over.

 

 

Tiina isn’t always about couture coats and dresses, though. She has quite a few casual tops like this monkey sweater. 

 

 

Super-hot reversible dress in orange/black leather. 

 

 

Okay, if there was anything I would ask Tiina to custom-make it’s her Ultimate Convertible dress. Snaps, corset tape, cords galore. I don’t even know where I would wear it. Shopping? If I were to buy this, I probably wouldn’t shop for a year. 

 

If there is a god, please have someone buy this dress for me!!!

 

Rest assured, the website gives more examples on how to wear the dress, I just didn’t put them here. My eyeballs would bounce right of their sockets, I’m so in love with this dress.

Tiina also sells art and home decor. Oh, and did I mention? She whittles bed frames. Freakin’ bed frames

 

If I were her, all I’d need to sell are 10 of these bad boys and I could pay off my grad school loans. But seriously, how awesome would it be to wake up to your own makeshift forest? Geez, is there anything this woman can’t do??? It was hilarious; I skimmed over her feedback from buyers and they were virtually creaming all over themselves. Hahahaha! But I get it. Tiina Antilla. Best. Designer. Ever.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Krsitie
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 13:48:43

    You have converted me oh venerable one! *sniff* I’ll half the dress with you if I can have it on Wednesdays and Fridays. o.0?

    Reply

  2. camilla
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 15:03:11

    fantastic creations=)

    Reply

  3. Suvikki
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 12:23:15

    http://www.attiladesign.com/

    She is Tiina Anttila? That makes her Finnish. Yay!

    Reply

  4. ketutar
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 06:06:14

    Yep, Tiina Anttila, Finnish 😀 So nice to be Finnish every now and then 🙂 The promised land of design…
    I love her design too 🙂

    Reply

  5. Denver Hall
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 23:21:52

    That green dress with the awesome straps is EPIC to say the least!!!!!!! Any idea how I might be able to get ahold of such a dress?

    Reply

  6. Erin
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 19:17:21

    Hi there! Any idea on how to buy the gray dress right above the picture of the bed.
    Thanks

    Reply

    • shesgotplenty
      Mar 02, 2012 @ 18:12:07

      Hi Erin! Tina has her own Etsy website where she sells her clothing. However, she’s always switchin’ it up so there’s a chance it’s probably not being sold anymore. HOWEVER…one of the best things about independent designers is that you can contact them and see if they will collaborate with you on making a custom-made dress. If you’re willing to put the time in, I would suggest asking if she would do custom-made and then referencing the picture. If you’re really sweet about it, she just might concede. I did a similar thing with her (except it had to do with making payments) and even though she didn’t provide that service, she was willing to work with me and I ended up getting my dream dress from her! Bottom line? It doesn’t hurt to ask. Best of luck!

      Reply

  7. kunal
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 01:28:22

    nice concepts

    Reply

Leave a Reply

