Mata Goes to Morocco

Who knew that H&M magazine would have explained the whole “gypset” concept down pat? 

When it comes to fashion, the gypset leans towards the creative, global traveler style of the seventies. Think natural fabrics, ethnic patterns, caftans and jewelry made of shells or beach stones…For the gypset, the modern version of the jet set, the focus is less on luxury yachts and expensive hotels, and more on freedom, mobility and adventure. On having the courage to go. The goal is to discover new cultures and meet as many exciting, creative people as possible. 

I mean, this is exactly how I feel to a T! I’m not looking to schmooze it up in some fancy resort (although I wouldn’t say no to it if it fell into my lap), but it’s about the freedom and adventure that I’ve always been raving about in other posts. So the obsession and fantasizing continues. 

I came across the artistic musings of Anita Quansah and Lamija Suljevic and was immediately transported to another world filled with headdresses made of gold, embroidered fabrics and mystery abound. This is what it must have felt like to be Mata Hari, famed Dutch double agent and courtesan of international acclaim.  Geez, can you think of a more real-life adventure movie? 

 

In my own mind’s eye, I had to provide an appropriate setting. What better place than Serge Luten’s Moroccan abode featured in W Magazine’s June 2010 issue? I can see it now… 

…Mata sniffing around the entrance to Serge’s laboratory where he conducts research for his fragances… 

 

…or basking in the warm glow from Serge’s stained glass windows… 

 

…or scrutinizing Serge’s collection of fibulae in another one of his sitting rooms… 

 

…or perhaps dancing on top of Serge’s dining table; tsk! He never dines there anyway. 

 

Me? I’d attack his Berber jewelry collection. Mmmm, turquoise…coral…vintage metals…droooool… 

 

 

Apparently, Mata Hari’s performance as an exotic dancer drew influences from Asia and Egypt. Born as Margaretha Zelle, she adopted Mata Hari as her stage name and posed as a Java princess, “pretending to have been immersed in the art of sacred Indian dance since childhood.” 

Inspired by her Bosnian roots, Lumija Suljevic‘s lookbook captures a mixture of Parisian elegance in the lush, embroidered fabrics and bohemian msytery hanging tantalizingly from the coined headdresses and turbans. Love to the infinity power. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Over at Shrimpton Couture, which is quickly becoming a favorite of mine, Anita Quansah serves up nomadic glamour via rope, chains and beads in gigantic quantities. 

 

I am blown away by her stylist. It’s like a techno-warrior princess all rolled into one. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A must-have in everyone’s arsenal of fashion and beauty products is anything that can be used in more than one way. Anita’s Nilo necklace can be worn both as a necklace or a body harness which, honestly, serves no other purpose than aesthetic delight and plain, pure fun. 

One… 

 

Two… 

 

…Three ways! And I’m sure there are dozens more ways to execute the fun. 

 

 

 

Ahhhh. More mind-blowing styling skillz. It’s like…Pocahontas meets Balenciaga. 

 

I always thought I’d stay a silver mama, but, as I look over at my jewelry trees, gold is making quite an appearance in my collection. You know what they say; all that glitters is gold! I’m sure Mata would agree with me.

Leave a Reply

